Deputies selected for new school

Date published: August 25, 2012 at 8:37 am | Comments


TWO deputy principals have been appointed to join the senior management team at Kawerau’s new school.
Kane Dyer of Motueka and Julie Mees of Kawerau have been appointed to work with principal Helen Tuhoro at the new school, temporarily named Kawerau High School.
Establishment board chairman Aaron Rangihika said the first task ahead of the team was designing a year 7 to 13 curriculum plan.
He anticipated that interviews for the 35 teaching positions would be conducted straight after the first round of advertising in September, followed by a similar process for non-teaching staff.
The board was seeking feedback from other Kawerau schools on the name of the new school, and kaumatua Sonny Rua has been asked to source a name reflective of the area’s history.
Mr Rangihika said Mrs Tuhoro would start working for the new school on August 27, and thanked Trident High School principal Peter Tootell for releasing his deputy principal early.
Mr Dyer told the Beacon he has 15 years’ experience in the education sector, an honours degree in painting and a diploma of teaching.
An visual art and art history teacher, he spent seven years at year 7 to 13 school Kaikorai Valley College in Dunedin.
From Dunedin he moved to Adelaide in Australia for four years. The last three years he spent at a school in an area of extreme poverty, where many students came from difficult backgrounds, he said.
He came back to New Zealand four years ago to be head of the art department at Motueka High School.
Of his new appointment, Mr Dyer said: “I hope to put everything I can into making the school have a really strong positive culture.”
The Beacon attempted to contact Ms Mees yesterday but she was unavailable.

Source: Whakatane Beacon